Office of National Drug Control Policy bannerskip
skip tertiary linksHome | About | Site Map | Contact

Home | High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas (HIDTA) | Southwest Border HIDTA: South Texas Region

Southwest Border HIDTA

South Texas Region

Map: Region | Texas

Mission Statement: The mission of the South Texas (ST) Partnership, Southwest Border High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (SWB HIDTA) is to reduce drug availability by creating intelligence-driven drug task forces aimed at eliminating or reducing domestic drug trafficking and its harmful consequences through enhancing and helping to coordinate drug trafficking control efforts among federal, state and local Law Enforcement Agencies (LEA). The ST Partnership's Director and Executive Committee identified eight specific goals to accomplish the mission. The major goals are reducing drug availability by eliminating or disrupting Consolidated Priority Organization Targets (CPOT) and Regional Priority Organization Targets (RPOT) Drug Trafficking Organizations (DTO); increasing focus on CPOT/RPOT transportation and distribution organizations; partnering with Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Forces (OCDETF) regarding CPOT/RPOT; increasing investigative focus on money laundering activities through intelligence providing avenues for investigations, thus impacting on drug trafficking profits; seeking to identify, dismantle, and prosecute large-scale narcotics and money laundering organizations, and seize the assets associated with their illegal activities; increasing coordination and consolidation among SWB HIDTA initiatives; increasing counter drug information collection, analysis, production and fusion into useable intelligence, and improving the efficiency and effectiveness of Law Enforcement Organizations (LEO) within the STR through enhanced training, coordination, and officer safety.

General Information:
Year of Designation: 1990
Geographic area of Responsibility:
Texas: Bexar, Cameron, Dimmit, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Kinney, La Salle, Starr, Maverick, Val Verde, Webb, Willacy, Zapata, and Zavala counties
Contact: (210) 692-1532


skip navigationInformation Quality Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Disclaimer | Accessibility | FOIA